CONCERT BAND

Title Sponsor:

nmaa-sponsor-logos-130-7022

ABOUT CONCERT BAND

The NMAA Concert Band Contest, in partnership with the New Mexico Music Educators Association (NMMEA), was initiated to provide an opportunity for high school bands as well as middle school and junior high bands, to participate in a statewide band festival with the intent of bringing together New Mexico’s best bands in competition. State Concert Band Contest participants represent a variety of populations, school sizes, and geographic locations. Any band whose school is an NMAA member can participate in this festival if they meet eligibility requirements. Bands mays qualify if they have earned a score of 90 or above in a recognized NMMEA district festival in the past two years.

The State Concert Band Contest Advisory Council provides professional content policies and makes recommendations, which support the rules and regulations set forth by NMAA, and provides New Mexico band programs with an educationally sound and equitable State Concert Band Contest. The State Concert Band Contest Advisory Council members are elected representatives from each district. The site for the State Concert Band Contest is determined NMAA. Trophies are awarded to the top three bands in each classification and an NMAA State Banner is awarded to the first place band in each classification

2020 State Concert Band Contest Information

RESULTS

NMAA Band Advisory Council

Christopher Argotsinger Farmington High School cargotsinger@fms.k12.nm.us
Anthony Baca Valencia High School adbaca@llschools.net
Ryan Finn Los Alamos Middle School r.finn@laschools.net
Ty Frederick Las Cruces High School jfrederick@lcps.net
April Pickrell Valencia Middle School april.pickrell@gmail.com
Melissa Rice-Perez Marshall Middle School melissa.perez@clovis-schools.org
Stephen Snowden Jackson Middle School jacksonmsbandabq@gmail.com
Amy Williams (NMMEA Band VP) Tony Hillerman Middle School bandvp@nmmea.com

IMPORTANT DATES

NMAA Middle School State Concert Band Contest
April 16, 2020
Sue Cleveland High School – Rio Rancho

NMAA High School State Concert Band Contest
April 17-18, 2020
Sue Cleveland High School – Rio Rancho

NMAA CONTACT

Neil Swapp (Primary Contact)
575.649.4507
neilswapp@nmmea.com
www.nmmea.com

Dana Pappas (NMAA)
505.923.3277 (office)
505.923.3114 (fax)
danamarie@nmact.org

Start typing and press Enter to search