In General News, Press Releases

In its 39th year of honoring the nation’s most elite high school athletes, Gatorade today announced Cameron Dyer of La Cueva High School is the 2023-24 Gatorade New Mexico Football Player of the Year. Dyer is the fourth Gatorade New Mexico Football Player of the Year to be chosen from La Cueva High School.

The award, which celebrates the nation’s top high school athletes for excellence on the field, in the classroom and in the community, distinguishes Dyer as New Mexico’s best high school football player. From CEOs and coaches to star athletes, Gatorade Player of the Year winners showcase the power of sport, touting an all-star group of alumni that includes Emmitt Smith (1986-87, Escambia High School, Fla.), Peyton Manning (1993-94, Isidore Newman School, La.) and Jackson Arnold (2022-23, John H. Guyer High School, Texas).

The 6-foot-4, 185-pound junior quarterback led the Bears to a 10-3 record and the Class 6A state championship this past season. Dyer passed for 2,897 yards and 29 touchdowns, adding 1,492 yards and 26 scores on the ground for an average of 12.8 yards per carry. He rushed for 220 yards and two touchdowns and also fired a touchdown pass in La Cueva’s 35-14 win over Cleveland igh School in the state final for the Bears’ 10th straight win.

Dyer has volunteered locally with Saranam, an organization that works with unhoused families. He has also donated his time on behalf of the Special Olympics. “Cam Dyer has the ‘it’ factor,” said Chad Adcox, head coach of Sandia High School. “He is so dynamic on the field. He throws very well and can create when the pocket breaks down. When they do run him, it is like a man amongst boys. He just runs past everyone and rarely takes a hit.”

Dyer has maintained a weighted 3.62 GPA in the classroom. He will begin his senior year of high school this fall.

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by the Gatorade Player of the Year Selection Committee, which leverages experts including coaches, scouts, media and others as sources to help evaluate and determine the state winners in each sport.

Dyer joins recent Gatorade New Mexico Football Players of the Year Evan Wysong (2022-23, Cleveland High School), Zach Vigil (2021-22, Rio Rancho High School), Luke Wysong (2020-21, Cleveland High School), and Isaiah Chavez (2019-20, Rio Rancho High School), among the state’s list of former award winners.

Recent Posts

Start typing and press Enter to search