NMAA Board Summary March 7, 2012

The New Mexico Activities Association's Board of Directors met in regular session today at The Pit.

Janel Ryan, Superintendent of Farmington Schools, was elected President of the NMAA Board of Directors. Mrs. Ryan will replace the retiring Mike Phipps (Artesia Superintendent) who has served as President of the Board since 2006. Bill Green, Quemado Superintendent, was elected Vice-President of the Board.

The Board approved two referendas during the meeting. The first referenda will be to consider the elimination of NMAA bylaw 6.7 (Boarding School Students), while the second referenda will consider revising the Athletic Class and Open Gym bylaws to read "Seven and a half hours of total contact time in a school week, inclusive of sports specific and sports specific conditioning classes beginning with the 2012-2013 school year."

The Board approved the division of Class B- District 1 into two separate districts for the 2012-2013 and the 2013-2014 school years. District 1 will include Wagon Mound, Des Moines, Maxwell, Roy/ Mosquero and the newly formed District 5 will be Temple Baptist, Evangel Christian, Victory Christian, Santa Fe Waldorf, NMSD and Walatowa.

The Board also approved a one year-waiver of the 180-day transfer rule for current Las Cruces Public School students for the 2012-2013 school year for students to attend Centennial High School.

A proposal to allow member schools to keep all volleyball and basketball district tournament revenue was approved, along with a 10% increase in membership dues beginning with the 2012-2013 school year.

The next NMAA Board meeting will be held on June 7, 2012 at the NMAA.