NMSDA State Championship Results, 2016

Impromptu:

Finalists:

From St Pius, Ryan Atkins

From Cibola, Michael Kiesling

From St. Pius, Kate Bruckner

From St. Pius, Kayla Moehn

In 3rd, from Mayfield High School, Renata Starostka

In 2nd, from Jemez Mountain Home School, Michael Booten

In 1st, from Taos High School, Khaleel Bilal

Program Oral Interpretation

Semi-finalists:

From Rio Grande, Morgan Tracy

From St. Pius, Megan Samora

From Los Alamos, Jenny Wang

From Los Alamos, Angela Feng

From Los Alamos, Julia O'Brien

From Navajo Prep, Elena Morris

From La Cueva, Jarrod Jeffcoat

From Eldorado, Abby Hobbs

Finalists:

From Albuquerque Academy, Lindsay Parcell

From Los Alamos, Katie Delgado

From Desert Academy, Emily Buxengaard
In 3rd, from Albuquerque Academy, Noel Bradley
In 2nd, from Albuquerque Academy, Jenna Lin
In 1st, from Albuquerque Academy, Sonal Sian

Humorous Interp

Finaling, from Jemez Mountain Home School, Caleb Booten
Finaling, from Rio Grande High School, Erick Beltran
Finaling, from Santa Fe Prep, Gina Maran
In 3rd place, from La Cueva, Adelyn Moore
In 2nd place, from Los Alamos, Trevor Nickless
In 1st place, from East Mountain High School, Samantha Maloy

Dramatic Interp

Finaling, from Los Alamos Middle School, Malea Joyce
From East Mountain High School, Atalie Brown
From Los Alamos High School, Claire DeCroix
From Eldorado High School, Mercedes Salazar
In 3rd, from Rio Grande, Guillermo Rascon
In 2nd, from Los Alamos High School, Irene Kwon
In 1st, from La Cueva High School, Michelle Zhou

Duo Interp

Finaling, from Los Alamos High School, Leah Wolfsberg and Jessica Erkkila

From Rio Grande, Britonya Fleming and Bryana Acosta

From Rio Grande, Erick Beltran and Guillermo Rascon

In 3rd, from La Cueva, Chloe Baker and Lauren Romero

In 2nd, from La Cueva, Michelle Zhou and Keana Kast

In 1st, from Desert Academy, Zeke Brecher and Zander Bennett-Strong

Informative Speaking

Finaling, from East Mountain High School, Chloe Hecht
From East Mountain High School, Tiffany Delgado
From La Cueva, Abby Lutz
In 3rd, from Los Alamos High School, Brandi Weiss
In 2nd, from East Mountain, Matt Bedeaux
In 1st, from Los Alamos High School, Katie Delgado

Original Oratory

Finaling, from Taos High School, Maravel Payne

From East Mountain, Ben Lopez

From Los Alamos High, Rebecca Cai

In 3rd, from Albuquerque Academy, Carly Cockerham

In 2nd, from Mayfield High School, Celinda Acosta

In 1st, from Albuquerque Academy, Emma Wellman

United States Extemporaneous

Finaling, from Cibola, Alex Cannady

From Desert Academy, Rise Miller
From Eldorado, Chase MacFarland
In 3rd, from Eldorado, Isabella Smith
In 2nd, from Eldorado, Sarah Mounho
In 1st, from Los Alamos, Will McCumber

International Extemporaneous

Finaling, from La Cueva, Xunchuan Liu
From Los Alamos, Robert Zhu
From Farmington, Elijah Larson
In 3rd, from Eldorado, Ryland Carter
In 2nd, from East Mountain, Matt Bedeaux
In 1st, from Santa Fe Prep, Mike Laposata

Public Forum

Public Forum Outstanding Speaker Award: From Farmington, Rudolfo Dominguez Quarter-Finalists:

From Los Alamos High School, Cade Mallett and Julia O'Brien
From Los Alamos High School, Will McCumber and Nathan Delgado
From Albuquerque Academy, Eric Moreno and Ruda Nighot
From Albuquerque Academy, Edwin Lu and Suraj Kholwadwala
In 3rd place, from Farmington, Elijah Larson and Rudolfo Dominguez
Also in 3rd place, from Eldorado, Ryland Carter and Trevor Fields
In 2nd, from La Cueva High School, Abby Lutz and Nicole Reyna

In 1st, from Albuquerque Academy, Carrie Hicks and Helen Liu

Congressional Debate:

Finalists:

Albuquerque Academy: Lindsey Parcell

United World College: Deeva Gupta

Desert Academy: Riley Kelehan

Santa Fe Prep: Drake Merians

Desert Academy: Rise Miller

East Mountain: Ben Lopez

United World College: Ben Brimacombe

East Mountain: Ethan Wade

Santa Fe Prep: Mike Laposata

Los Alamos: Will McCumber

United World College: Zhang

Los Alamos: Cade Mallett

East Mountain: Matt Bedeaux

Los Alamos: Colin Wilburn

Farmington: Elijah Larson

East Mountain: Sofia Hoskins

Del Norte: Smith-Covarrubias

East Mountain: Gina Sanchez

Receiving the Lockhart-Henry Outstanding Presiding Officer Award for 2016, From Los Alamos High School, Will McCumber

Placing:

6th: From East Mountain, Gina Sanchez

5th: From East Mountain, Sofia Hoskins

4th: From East Mountain, Matt Bedeaux

3^{rd:} From Los Alamos, Cade Mallett

2nd: From Santa Fe Prep, Mike Laposata

1^{st:} From East Mountain Ben Lopez

Novice Lincoln Douglas Debate

Quarter Finalists:

From Los Alamos High School, Leah Wolfsberg

From Albuquerque Academy, Zoe Henderson

From V. Sue Cleveland, Marshall Stovall

From Desert Academy, Anish Kumar

In 3rd place, from Taos High School, Zach Ginn

Also in 3rd place, from Santa Fe Prep, Ashley Thomas

In 2nd place, from La Cueva High School, Adelyn Moore

In 1st place, from Santa Fe Prep, Cameron Gonzales

Varsity Lincoln Douglas Debate

The Bennett Varsity Lincoln Douglas Outstanding Speaker Award: from La Cueva High School, Amy Lee

Quarter Finalists:

From East Mountain, Jessie Linder

From East Mountain, Gina Sanchez

From La Cueva, Chloe Baker

From Los Alamos, Andy Shen

In 3rd place, from East Mountain, Matt Bedeaux

Also in 3rd place, from Los Alamos High, Rebecca Cai

Closing out 1st place, from La Cueva, Amy Lee and Renata Thornton

Novice Policy Debate

In 3rd place, from Los Alamos, Antonio Dowdy and Sam Menefee
Also in 3rd place, from La Cueva, Aakif Nagji and Alex Baca
In 2nd place, from Los Alamos Middle School, Emily Holmes and Neha Sadasivan
In 1st place, from La Cueva High School, Nathan Elden and Ben Kosko

Varsity Policy Debate

The Trujillo Varsity Policy Outstanding Speaker Award: From La Cueva, Caitlyn Sweet

In 3rd place, from Santa Fe Prep, Pema Baldwin and Giacomo Coppola
Also in 3rd place, from Albuquerque Academy, Calvin Abdallah and Rafael Schleder
In a tie for first place, from Santa Fe Prep, Mike Laposata and Sarjbot Jessop
Also in a tie for first place, from Los Alamos High School, Colin Wilburn and
Benjamin Reidys

NMSDA Speech coach of the year: Louie Chavez, Rio Grande High School

NMSDA Debate coach of the year: Melissa Brown, Farmington High School

James Akin student of the year award: Elijah Larson, Farmington High school

Sweepstakes:

New Mexico Speech Schools of Honor:

East Mountain High School, Rio Grande High School, Desert Academy, Mayfield High School, Eldorado High School

New Mexico Debate Schools of Honor:

East Mountain High School, Eldorado High School, Farmington High School, Los Alamos Middle School, Taos High School

New Mexico Schools of Excellence:

Los Alamos High School, La Cueva High School, Albuquerque Academy, Santa Fe Prep