NMAA Board of Directors' Meeting December 13, 2017 10:30 am NMAA Hall of Pride and Honor

Welcome - Meeting called to order by Mr. T.J. Parks, NMAA Board of Directors President, at 10:30 am. Ms. Jacquelyne Martinez, NMAA Assistant Director, conducted roll call and the following members were present:

Mr. Jaime Widner (Small Area B)

Mr. Bill Green (Small Area C)

Ms. Lesa Dodd (Small Area D)

Mr. T.J. Parks (Large Area B - President)

Ms. Raquel Reedy (Large School District I) *representing Ms. Raquel Reedy, Yvonne Garcia

Dr. Gregory Ewing (Large School District II)

Mr. Ernie Viramontes (NMAA Commission Representative)

Mr. Terry Martin (NM School Board Association)

Not present:

Mr. Kirk Carpenter (Large Area A)

Dr. Craig Cummins (Large Area C)

Dr. Crit Caton (At-Large Member)

Ms. Dana Sanders (Large Area D)

Mr. Anthony Casados (Small Area A)

Eight members present representing a quorum.

Approval of the Agenda:

Mr. Parks asked for a motion to approve the agenda. Ms. Dodd made the motion to approve the agenda. Mr. Widner seconded the motion. A vote was taken and passed unanimously (8-0).

Approval of Minutes:

Mr. Parks asked for a motion to approve the minutes of the November 30, 2017 Board Meeting as presented. Mr. Green made a motion to approve the minutes. Mr. Widner seconded the motion. A vote was taken and passed unanimously (8-0).

2018-2020 Classification and Alignment Appeals - Session 1:

The following individuals presented appeals on behalf of their respective schools:

Logan High School: Dennis Roch, Superintendent

Navajo Pine High School: Sean Manuelito, Athletic Director

Roswell High School: Troy Hudson, Athletic Director

Santa Fe Indian School: Roy Herrera, Superintendent; Eric Brock, Athletic Director; and Pablo

Padilla, Legal Counsel

Wingate High School: Al Martinez, Athletic Director

Executive Session:

Mr. Parks asked for a motion to enter into Executive Session at 11:26 am. A motion was made by Mr. Green. Mr. Widner seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken and passed unanimously (8-0).

Yes/For	No/Against	Board Member Name
✓		Mr. Jamie Widner (Small, Area B)
√		Mr. Bill Green (Small, Area C)
✓		Ms. Lesa Dodd (Small, Area D)
✓		Mr. T.J. Parks (Large, Area B)
✓		Ms. Yvonne Garcia (Large School District I)
✓		Dr. Gregory Ewing (Large School District II)
✓		Mr. Ernie Viramontes (NMAA Commission Representative)
✓		Mr. Terry Martin (NM School Board Association)
8	0	Total

Mr. Parks asked for a motion to exit out of Executive Session at 12:50 pm. Ms. Dodd made the motion to exit from Executive Session. Mr. Viramontes seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken and passed unanimously (8-0). Mr. Parks stated no action was taken in Executive Session.

Yes/For	No/Against	Board Member Name
✓		Mr. Jamie Widner (Small, Area B)
✓		Mr. Bill Green (Small, Area C)
✓		Ms. Lesa Dodd (Small, Area D)
✓		Mr. T.J. Parks (Large, Area B)
✓		Ms. Yvonne Garcia (Large School District I)
✓		Dr. Gregory Ewing (Large School District II)
✓		Mr. Ernie Viramontes (NMAA Commission Representative)
✓		Mr. Terry Martin (NM School Board Association)
8	0	Total

2018-2020 Classification and Alignment Appeals - Session 2:

The following individuals presented appeals on behalf of their respective schools:

Alamogordo High School:Jerrett Perry, Athletic Director

Atrisco Heritage Academy High School: Adrian Ortega, Athletic Director

Bernalillo High School: Terry Darnell, Athletic Director

Dulce High School: Castia Yepa, Athletic Coordinator

Fort Sumner/House High School: Bonnie Lightfoot, Superintendent House Schools

Mora High School: No representatives showed up to present

Pecos High School: Fred Trujillo, Superintendent

Shiprock High School: Ben Tensay, District Athletic Director; and Deborah Waters, Health Services

Executive Session:

Mr. Parks asked for a motion to enter into Executive Session at 2:06 pm. A motion was made by Mr. Martin. Ms. Dodd seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken and passed unanimously (8-0).

Yes/For	No/Against	Board Member Name
✓		Mr. Jamie Widner (Small, Area B)
✓		Mr. Bill Green (Small, Area C)
✓		Ms. Lesa Dodd (Small, Area D)
✓		Mr. T.J. Parks (Large, Area B)
✓		Ms. Yvonne Garcia (Large School District I)
✓		Dr. Gregory Ewing (Large School District II)
✓		Mr. Ernie Viramontes (NMAA Commission Representative)
✓		Mr. Terry Martin (NM School Board Association)
8	0	Total

Mr. Parks asked for a motion to exit out of Executive Session at 2:49 pm. Mr. Viramontes made the motion to exit from Executive Session. Ms. Dodd seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken and passed unanimously (8-0). Mr. Parks stated no action was taken in executive session.

Yes/For	No/Against	Board Member Name
✓		Mr. Jamie Widner (Small, Area B)
✓		Mr. Bill Green (Small, Area C)
✓		Ms. Lesa Dodd (Small, Area D)
✓		Mr. T.J. Parks (Large, Area B)
✓		Ms. Yvonne Garcia (Large School District I)
✓		Dr. Gregory Ewing (Large School District II)
✓		Mr. Ernie Viramontes (NMAA Commission Representative)
✓		Mr. Terry Martin (NM School Board Association)
8	0	Total

Action Items:

Consider final approval of 2018-2020 block: Mr. Parks asked the board members to consider tabling any action to classification and alignment to a future meeting that is yet to be determined. Mr. Martin made the motion to table the item. Mr. Green seconded the motion. A vote was taken and passed unanimously (8-0).

Consider Adjournment:

Mr. Parks asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting at 2:50 pm. Mr. Green made the motion to adjourn the meeting. Ms. Dodd seconded the motion. A vote was taken and passed unanimously (8-0).

Next Special Board Meeting - December 2017, Day/Time TBD (NMAA)

Next Regular Board Meeting – February 14, 2018 (NMAA)