

To: All NMAA Varsity Basketball Head Coaches and Athletic Directors

From: Gary Tripp, Executive Director

Sally Marquez, Assistant Executive Director Dana M. Sanchez, Commissioner of Officials

Subject: Recommendations for 2012 State Basketball Championships Officials –

Due February 3, 2012

Date: January 24, 2012

The following is a list of officials rated as "Certified" and who have met all NMAA/NMOA guidelines for becoming eligible to officiate the state championships. Please utilize the individuals on this list to vote for officials for the 2012 NMAA State Basketball Championships to be held in the Albuquerque Metro area on March 6-10, 2012.

The officials for the State Tournament are selected based on the votes from coaches and well as input from the group leaders and varsity regional assignors. The NMAA office has final approval and will act as an agency which verifies the standing of each official who is potentially selected for the tournament.

Please note that this ballot is only for the officials who will be calling the rounds of the State Tournament being held the week of March 6-10, 2012. Officials for the First Round of the State Tournament will be assigned collaboratively by the NMAA office and Varsity Regional Assignors. Officials for first round games will be assigned based on the same parameters as the final rounds of state (utilization of officials from outside of the regions of the two competing schools except for when two schools from the same region play each other).

If you are an Athletic Director who has received this ballot, please ensure that both your boys' and girls' varsity basketball coaches receive it. Have each coach complete a copy and return it back to our office, with your signature by the stated deadline. *Coaches* may vote for six officials in their home region. There is no "weight" on the votes. Votes will be counted on a one-for-one basis.

Return your recommendations no later than **4:00 p.m. on Friday, February 3, 2012** to ensure your input is considered. You may fax, mail or email your selections to our office:

Fax: (505) 923-3114

Mail: 6600 Palomas NE, Albuquerque, NM 87109

Email: dana@nmact.org

We hope you are having a great season! Thank you for your cooperation in this matter. If there are questions, or if we may provide additional assistance, please feel free to contact us at your convenience.



# 2011-2012 NMAA/NMOA CERTIFIED BASKETBALL OFFICIALS



## **CENTRAL REGION**

## (Albuquerque & Socorro Officials' Associations)

Ray Arriola Delano Howard Kevin Myers **Gregg Sanchez Curt Spencer** Al Baca James Jackson Yolanda Naranjo Marc Baca Levi Lovato Ed Nuñez Tom Thorpe David Osuna **Carlos Torrez Bob Brown** Jess Martinez Larry Varoz Raymond Esquivel Vernon Martinez Tom Paterniti **Eddie Gutierrez** Leroy Montoya **Stacy Ross** William Wright

## **NORTHEAST REGION**

## (Española, Las Vegas, Los Alamos, Santa Fe, Springer/Raton, Taos & Trinidad Officials' Associations)

Gary Ahlers	Ron Maestas	Mark Salazar	Gary Varela
Gary Aycock	Polito Martinez	Anthony Trujillo	Carl Vigil
Gerald Baca	Ronnie Milliorn	Fabian Trujillo	James Wendelberger
John Baca	Elias Montoya	Alvin Valdez	
Leon Lopez	Jeffrey Quintana	Earl Valdez	
Melvin Madrid	Mark Romero	Isaac Valdez	

## **NORTHWEST REGION**

## (Farmington, Gallup & Grants Officials' Associations)

Michael Dan	Kevin Jones	Frederick Nez	Bobby Sitton
Erin Dunavant	Kelsey Lizer	Herman Patterson	
Jeff Hartog	Stewart Logan	David Rodriguez	
John Hartog	Vernon Long	Jerome Sandoval	

## **SOUTHEAST REGION**

## (Artesia, Carlsbad, Clovis, Hobbs, Lovington, Portales & Roswell Officials' Associations)

David Briseño	Darren Jones	Rene Marquez	Merced Valdez
Jay Edgett	Darren Kelley	Steve Serna	Leonard Velasquez
Pat Gonzales	Lance Langan	Keith Simpson	Lolly Zamora
Larry Grant	Justin Liles	Paul Smith	
Wesley Hatley	Frank Lilley	Brian Stacy	
Willie Henry	Fabian Lopez	Wendell Taylor	

## **SOUTHWEST REGION**

## (Alamogordo, Deming, El Paso, Las Cruces, Ruidoso & Silver City Officials' Associations)

Tony Armijo	Sterlen Kane	Mike Rundell	Curt Temple
Victor Diaz	Paul LaPorte	Julian Salazar	Bobby Trujillo
Earl Greer	Steve Mauer	Rick Sanchez	
Ed Helsel	Mike Norfleet	Louis Sauceda	

NOTE: The following officials were also in "good standing" and at the Certified level for the 2011-2012 season. They are not eligible to call the 2012 State Tournament either due to injury, due to calling last year's state tournament (NMAA and OCC rules prohibit officials from calling back-to-back state basketball tournaments) or for other reasons. We felt it prudent to recognize their accomplishment of being at the highest rating basketball officials can achieve. Please do not place these officials' names on your ballot, as those votes will not be counted.

Central	Northeast	Northwest	Southeast	Southwest
Michael Gonzales	Jeffrey Archuleta	Alfred Baer	Kayne Gutierrez	Steve Aguirre
Joseph Gonzalez	Anthony Cordova	Clarence Bodkin	Drew Hatley	Candace Aragon
David Havlick	Sonny Cordova	Walter Dorman	John Klepper	Robert McDonald
Mike Kloeppel	Danny Lujan	Judge Jackson	Dan Lewis	Robert Nuñez
Andy Malin	Jake Martinez	Michael Quintana	Gene Strickland	Oscar Payen
David Montoya	Benny Ortiz	Chris Sarracino	<b>DeMond Thomas</b>	Brian Salazar
Ken Murphy				
Lisa Romero				
Steven Rosas				
Victor Sanchez				
Gary Vigil				



# **NEW MEXICO ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATION**



# 2012 NMAA STATE BASKETBALL TOURNAMENT OFFICIALS' NOMINATION FORM

**COACHES:** Vote for Top 6 officials from your home region. Votes are not weighted. They are counted on a one-for-one basis.

<b>HOME REGI</b>	<u>ON (Circle One)</u>	<u>:</u>		
CENTRAL	NORTHEAST	NORTHWEST	SOUTHEAST	SOUTHWEST
1				
2				
3				
4				
5				
6				
N		ATIONS ARE DUE IN 4:00 P.M. ON FRIDA		
	Fax: Mail: Email:	(505) 923-3114 6600 Palomas NE, dana@nmact.org	Albuquerque, NM	187109
Please check	k one: DBO	YS HEAD COACH	☐ GIRLS HEA	D COACH
Coach's Name	e	Coa	ch's Signature	
Athletic Director's Name		Ath	letic Director's Sign	ature
School				